BSL: active and enforced.

Australia Map

ACT | Queensland | New South Wales | Northern Territory 

South Australia | Tasmania | Victoria | Western Australia

Australia has six self-governing states and two mainland territories. It also administers a number of island territories (Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Coral Sea Islands, Norfolk Island) as well as the Australian Antarctic Territory and the subantarctic Territory of Heard Island and McDonald Island. Click here for a list of all Australian State and Territory Government web sites.

"Dogs of the following breeds are not eligible for importation into Australia: dogo Argentino; fila Brazileiro; Japanese tosa; and pit bull terrier or American pit bull."

See: A guide to importing dogs and cats into Australia.

See also:

Endangered Dog Breeds Association of Australia
Semen - Dog/cat (Import)

Importation of Disability Assistance Dogs
AQIS Information Sheet - Disability Assistance Dogs

NCCAW: Guidelines for Control and Responsible Ownership of Dogs
NCCAW: Protocol for Assessing Aggression in Dogs

Parliament of Australia

Anti-BSL/BSL Information:
Please submit anti-BSL web-sites, articles or contacts to Andrina Morton.
Media Links:

Optus Network
WIN Television

Newspapers & Magazines
Australian, The
Weekend Australian, The

Internet News/Web Media

Press Agencies, etc.
Australian Associated Press
Australian Press Council

Dog Press/Web Sites
Dogz Online (web)
Oz Dog Magazine
Pets and Vets Magazine
Kennel Club:
Australian National Kennel Council

For full list of Australian Kennel Clubs/Canine Associations click here.
CIA World Factbook 2000 listing:
Rescue/Re-home Links:
Click here for world-wide Breed Specific Rescue links.

Animal Welfare in Australia - RSPCA

Back to main BSL page

| Mall Home Page | Mall Directory The Stafford Exchange |
Editors: Andrina Morton -
Steve Stone -

Layout, design & revisions Copyright 1997-2005 - Stoutheart Staffordshire Bull Terriers - All rights reserved
Webmaster Terry G. Stewart
Revised - 2004-09-03 at 20:25:33 PST
South Australia Tasmania Northern Territory Queensland Victoria Capital Territory New South Wales Western Australia